claidheamhmor: (F-111 in the Sky)
[personal profile] claidheamhmor
I saw a couple of movies recently.



Amelia is a biopic about Amelia Earhart, her relationship with George Putnam, and her last flight. I must admit, I found it rather boring. Hilary Swank got Earhart spot-on, in looks, at least, but Richard Gere was badly miscast; he was channelling Billy Flynn from Chicago. From an authenticity point of view, Amelia looked really, really good, but sadly, that didn't rescue it.

One interesting factoid: while I was watching it, I was admiring the South Seas island scenery, and thinking how much it looked like the scenery around our holiday home in Kei Mouth. I later found that those scenes had been filmed on the Wild Coast, while is across the Kei River from Kei Mouth. The hotel the cast and crew stayed at was in fact just across the river!



I also saw Inglourious Basterds a few weeks ago, and didn't like it much. The first part was a bit of an "if only" wankfest; the rest was more interesting, but somewhat choppy and not very satisfying. Brad Pitt overacted ludicrously. I must admit, I don't get Tarantino movies, and it's hard to criticise them, because if you do, you're told that that's the way Tarantino intended the movie to be, and it's a homage to such-and-such.

Date: Friday, 5 February 2010 14:33 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] argonel.livejournal.com
So what people are trying to tell you is that Tarantino movies are intentionally bad. Or at least intentionally muddy and confusing. For what it's worth I like from dusk to dawn and thought pulp fiction was OK but I'm not excited about is other movies

Date: Friday, 5 February 2010 17:01 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ubet-cha.livejournal.com
Seconded. When sitting down to a Tarantino movie I expect ludicrous amounts of violence, a few graphic shock scenes, spots of dark humor, and a very loose plot. I imagine its kind of like going on a hallucinogenic binge.

Date: Friday, 5 February 2010 14:46 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ihlanya.livejournal.com
I think you just have to realise that just 'cos YOU don't like or 'get' a movie, doesn't mean the rest of us don't!

Date: Friday, 5 February 2010 15:13 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jadedflame.livejournal.com
I rather enjoyed Inglourious Bastards... mind you, that said, I was only really half watching it while I was playing computer games... and all I remember are the gory bits... which is pretty much all I ever get from Tarantino movies :)

Date: Friday, 5 February 2010 16:44 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] redqueenmeg.livejournal.com
I like most Tarantino but I don't get most of his references. I can't explain it. :)

Date: Monday, 8 February 2010 12:37 (UTC)
From: [identity profile] windrider-09.livejournal.com
Tarantino's cult status allows him to be as lazy as he wants whilst still getting appreciation from fans.

Profile

claidheamhmor: (Default)
claidheamhmor

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Tags

Active Entries

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags